This picturesque Romanesque building was, at the turn of the century, located on the extreme west edge of the campus adjacent to cow pastures. Originally constructed to replace the university's boiler house, which had burned in 1898, it housed the power plant, hydraulic and testing laboratories, and shops for lathe, wood burning, forge and casting equipment. It was named Fowler Shops after George A Fowler, a Kansas City donor. A tower and smokestack on the west side of the building burned in 1918 and were never replaced.
During World War II, Navy Machinist Mates were trained in Fowler. In 1951 the shops were moved and the 1899 structure was remodeled and a south wing added to house the William Allen White School of Journalism. It was renamed Flint Hall to honor Professor Leon Flint. In 1982 the interior was totally renovated the the building renamed again--Stauffer-Flint Hall in gratitude to contributions from Oscar Stauffer and Stauffer publications. KU journalism students still study there in the renamed School of Journalism and Mass Communications.
Jayhawk Boulevard at Sunflower Road|
Henry Van Brunt of Van Brunt and Howe, Boston and Kansas City, MO
Three and a half
Exterior Walls, Foundation & Structure
Oread limestone quarried on site and set without a pattern
Red clay flat tile; hip; shed dormer on re-roofed west wing
West wing: limestone semi-circular arches of voussoirs; east wing: limestone lintels and lugsills; all windows separated by cast-iron engaged columns
Three stories with decorative windows, lattices and panels; door under semicircular arch of voussoirs